Michigan Defense Attorneys
Arrested Or Charged With a Sex Crime in Michigan?by Zaher Law Firm on 12/10/19
If you are facing a charge involving a sex crime or CSC charges in Michigan, you may already be aware of some of the ramifications of the allegations (such as registering as a sex offender) that exist even before an investigation is complete, and certainly before the case comes to an end.
Our sexual abuse defense lawyers fight to protect the rights of people who have been accused of rape/sexual assault, child sex crimes, and other sex offenses throughout Michigan
We provide relentless criminal defense representation to clients facing charges involving all types of criminal sex offenses, including:
- Sexual assault or rape
- Sexual abuse
- Indecent exposure, including exposure to a minor
- Child pornography
- Internet solicitation of a minor
- Child molestation
- CSC Crime
Have you been charged with criminal sexual
conduct (Rape) crime in Michigan?
There are four degrees of Criminal Sexual Conduct (CSC) under Michigan law; they cover a range of sexual contact and levels of force or intimidation. Jail time for sexual assault crimes can last for decades, with some offenses carrying possible life sentences and 25 year minimum prison terms. Even for convictions of a lesser degree of CSC, the penalties are severe. If You Have Been Charged With CSC, give us a call. These charges range between first and fourth degree. Typically, first and third degree CSC involves penetration, while second and fourth degree CSC result from contact of some other nature.
CSC (criminal sexual conduct ) can be a difficult case for the prosecution to prove, considering such factors as consent or false accusations. Some alleged victims, while caught in the act of consensual sexual intercourse or whose advances are rejected, will cry “rape” when unwarranted. Charges can also be brought about as the result of jealousy, revenge, or from a repressed or recovered memory that can be years old and is unreliable.
In any of the above situations the accused faces false or exaggerated charges. Due to the unpleasant and sometimes upsetting nature of sexual offense cases, a jury may turn a deaf ear to the defense. If you are being investigated for First, Second, Third or Forth Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct, you must call an attorney immediately and do not speak with the police! They will already have gathered some evidence against you and if their case is strong enough they will charge you whether or not you speak with them or not.
Michigan Penalties for a Criminal Sexual Conduct Conviction
1st degree: Up to life in prison and lifetime registration on sex offender list
2nd degree: Up to 15 years in prison and lifetime registration on sex offender list
3rd degree: Up to 15 years in prison and 25 years registered on sex offender list
4th degree: Up to 2 years in prison and 25 years registered on sex offender list